Corona Virus 

Corona Virus (Covid 19) Update 7 – September 2020

Travelers Prohibited from Entry to the United States

Several Presidential proclamations established restrictions on the entry of certain travelers into the United States in an effort to help slow the spread of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19).

With specific exceptions, foreign nationals who have been in any of the following countries during the past 14 days may not enter the United States. For a full list of exceptions, please refer to the relevant proclamations in the links below.

  • China
  • Iran
  • European Schengen area (Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City)
  • United Kingdom (England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland)
  • Republic of IrelandBrazilexternal icon

Click here for all Corona Virus Updates!

Ireland announces 15-country travel green list

The Irish government has announced a ‘Green List’ of 15 European countries from which arrivals will not need to self-isolate, including Ireland’s largest ELT source market Italy.

The list was announced following a cabinet meeting yesterday and represents the first relaxation of Ireland’s Covid-19 entry controls, which have until now required all arrivals to quarantine for 14 days.

The 15 countries on the Green List are: Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Monaco, Norway, San Marino and Slovakia. The exemption for travel from Northern Ireland also remains in place.

Anyone arriving into Ireland from these locations will not have to restrict their movements.

Passengers from any other location not on this list are asked to restrict their movements for 14 days.

The list will be reviewed on a fortnightly basis, based on advice from officials including public health experts.

South African government

The South African government has not yet announced when the international borders will be reopened. With the number of people infected in South Africa decreasing, we expect international borders to open possibly as soon as 1 October. (Source Good Hope Studies, Cape Town)

Media Release
5 September 
As of today, a cumulative total of 636 884 confirmed COVID-19 cases in South Africa have been recorded with 1 806 new cases identified. The total number of tests conducted to date is 3 783 823 with 18 123 new tests conducted since the last report. (Source: Covid 19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal)

Related posts